I want to be a mermaid!

I want to be a !mermaid

a synthesis of me

with technology

I

want to

explore

the possibilities

that exist

for me

within the marine

environment

I know it is a long swim

from where I am

to where

I want to be;

but

I will embark on this journey

with the knowledge

that as I swim

I will

overcome

all of the obstacles that others

see before me.

I know that I am not a fish

nor

will ever be a classical mermaid

but that is not my ambition

my desire is to be a

!mermaid

a synergy of me

and technology

a

21st century reinterpretation

of

the classical mermaid

I know that

there exists

within the arc of possibilities

the potential

to create

 through concerted technological evolution

of accessories

not yet envisioned

that will enable me

to transform

into

my vision of myself in the future.

I want to transform

away from being a terrestrial animal

I do not want to be

constrained by my biological morphology

to a dry existence

living

in a world

in which I am forced

through natural physical forces

to

constantly fight gravity

to stay erect

and walk upon

the surface of the earth

Sometime in the near future

I choose

to explore

what is possible

what I can do

on a personal level

to transform into a marine animal

no longer

confined to the surface

of the ocean for oxygen and warmth

I look forward

to the journey

the adventure

of exploring the unknown

of living a life

outside of the conventional

suburban existence

of trying to discover a way

that I can

live an aquatic existence

in harmony

with the marine inhabitants

I want to learn

how to

create a lifestyle

that is sustainable into the future

that works

in harmony with other lifeforms

and creates a synergy

between

the biological

and the technological

between

plants and animals

I want to learn how to harness

the

forces of nature

to work within their constraints

yet

find innovative solutions

which enable me

to

transform myself

and the environment

in which I exist

into the best

of the possible realities

I can

create.

Leave a Reply

